Read Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1) by Kristina Pérez Online

Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1)

Not you without me, not me without you.Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she's ever loved. Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legends true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance....

Title : Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781250132857
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 448 pages
Url Type : Home » Sweet » Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1)

Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1) Reviews

  • Breanna

    THIS REVIEW & MORE → Paws and Paperbacks

    ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

    “Odai eti ama. I hate and I love.”


    When I talk about how I want more books based on Celtic mythology and Irish folklore, this is what I’m talking about. As soon as I saw that this was a retelling of Tristan and Iseult, I knew immediately that I needed to read it. Sweet Black Waves was everything I could have asked for and more.

    There is so much to love about this book. To start, the world-building and se ...more

  • Aimee ♥ | Aimee, Always

    DNF at 71%. I just can’t force myself to read this anymore. It’s annoying, weirdly-paced, and just plain cheesy.

    Full review to come!

  • Kaitlin

    * I was given this book by the author in exchange for an honest review *

    I am happy to say that this book, which I wasn't sure I would like, turned out to be one which I really enjoyed. I wasn't quite sure what this one was about when I was given it, although I did get the impression that there would be romance and magic, warring kindoms and more. I am happy to say, there are indeed all of those ingredients, but also that it's got a relationship between two female cousins and their friendship an
    ...more

  • Heather Ezell

    I read SWEET BLACK WAVES during a coastal retreat in the PNW this past winter and it was the peeeeeeeeerfect location to become entrenched in the lands of Iveriu and Kernyv and this stunner of a story. It's stunning and lush, painful and evocative. And the ending—it BROKE ME. Come for the allure of romance (and the romance is A+) and stay for the incredible friendship between Branwen and Essy. Be prepared with chocolate and a heating pad to hold to your aching heart. <3

  • Teresa

    Seriously ugly cry at the end of this book...I won't even try to lie or make excuses all I can say is that Kristina Perez broke my heart into several pieces and I am still trying to pick all of them up.

    Branwen is lady in waiting to her cousin, the princess, and the only thing Branwen loves more than Eseult is her country. When Branwen finds an enemy half dead, she chooses to help him, even though she hates his country; but as we all know more often than not love finds a way and pretty soon Bran
    ...more

  • Kath ☽ sheturnspages

    ODAI ETI AMA

    I hate and I love


    I loved so many elements of this Tristan and Isolde retelling, particularly those to do with the Celtic inspired mythology and magic. The story notwithstanding, I could walk around in this coastal setting of medieval Ireland and experience the whimsy of Otherworld creatures and magical lore all day. It’s a hauntingly beautiful backdrop to an age-old story.

    Being familiar with the story of Tristan and Isolde, I was expecting plenty of melancholy romance and my expecta
    ...more

  • Kathy Martin

    Branwen is an orphan who is the niece of the queen and the best friend and lady-in-waiting to her cousin Princess Eseult. She is mostly treated as another daughter of the queen and the princess's sister. Her parents were killed by the Kernyvaks and she has grown up with a hatred for them.

    When she rescues and heals a young sailor, she is dismayed to learn that he is Kernyvak. She is torn between her vows as a healer and her own hatred. Gradually she falls in love with the young man but, when raid
    ...more

  • Lexi

    It’s 330 am i am sitting at work trying not to cry or tear my heart out because this book completely ruined me. I felt as sick as branny did at the end, when it all just went down. This story was beautiful, haunting, horribly heartbreaking and genuinely amazing. The love between cousins turned sisters made me believe in family. The love tantris found with emer was exciting, and the love that bloomed between Tristan and Brawen was passionate and bold.

    I really hope there will be a second book. My
    ...more