Read Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil Online

Silent Child

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...... until Aiden returns.Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden....

Title : Silent Child
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Url Type : Home » Silent » Silent Child

Silent Child Reviews

  • l a i n e y

    Audiobook rating: ★★★★

    Story rating: ★


    Ok, the fact that there was a mention of Downton Abbey in Silent Child was really amusing! Since the only reason I listened to this audiobook at all was because it has Joanne Froggatt (who played Anna Bates in the show) as narrator. So that nugget is something extra and earned a good chuckle during a miserable stretch of chapters.

    Every facade of the revelation was some implausible scenario after another. When you think about it, it’s just too much to beg to
    ...more

  • Laura

    This is one of those novels which should in theory live up to the hype. With a decent plot synopsis and many favourable reviews, this had all the makings of a good mystery thriller. Unfortunately I found the characters one dimensional, the dialogue too obvious and the writing felt forced.

    The first half of the novel surpasses the second in terms of page turning. I enjoyed the discovery of Aiden following his ten years of captivity at the hands of a psychotic unknown predator. But the parts that f
    ...more

  • Samantha

    It's been ten years since Emma's young son Aiden disappeared during a flood. She's since married and is pregnant with her husband, Jake's, child. She was forced to declare Aiden dead because she needed closure. Then, out of nowhere, Aiden wanders out of the woods. Someone must have taken him, only Aiden is to traumatized to say what happened. Emma struggles to try and find out who took her son, but suspicion and paranoia soon take over. The plot was a tad predictable, but I was still on the edge ...more

  • Ahmed  Ejaz

    Buddy read with:- Abdullah, Elsa, Amna, Zarshal and Nigham.

    (Spoilers are concealed. Feel free to read)

    OVERVIEW

    Emma has lost her six year old child, Aiden, in the flood. He appears after ten years when she has been married to Jake and she is pregnant with his child.

    Where Aiden had been for ten years? And how he survived? These questions would have been easy to answer only if her traumatised Aiden could speak the unspeakable.

    I was hooked by this book honestly. I didn't want to put it down.
    ...more

  • Mandy White

    A fantastic book! And I highly recommend the audible version read by Joanne Froggett from Downton Abbey... amazing!

  • Jodi Bibliophile

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!! Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout and left me dying to know what will happen next. Some great twists and turns that had me shouting 'OH MY GOD!!!'.

    It would make one hell of a movie that's for sure.

  • Tania

    3.5 stars. As I’ve mentioned before, 2017 has been my year of reading more mystery titles, and this book has been one of my favorites – very much unexpectedly so! I must start by saying that I listened to this on audible, and the narrator – Joanne Froggatt – was amazing. It really felt like she was living, and not reading, the story. I liked that the story is not about dealing with the abduction of a child, but rather on what happens when a son presumed dead returns ten years later. Apparently I ...more

  • Sue

    Disappointing, dull, repetitive, not believable