Read Pachinko by Min Jin Lee Online

Pachinko

Yeongdo, Korea 1911. In a small fishing village on the banks of the East Sea, a club-footed, cleft-lipped man marries a fifteen-year-old girl. The couple have one child, their beloved daughter Sunja. When Sunja falls pregnant by a married yakuza, the family face ruin. But then Isak, a Christian minister, offers her a chance of salvation: a new life in Japan as his wife. Following a man she barely knows to a hostile country in which she has no friends, no home, and whose language she cannot speak, Sunjas salvation is just the beginning of her story. Through eight decades and four generations, Pachinko is an epic tale of family, identity, love, death and survival. ...

Title : Pachinko
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 496 pages
Url Type : Home » Pachinko » Pachinko

Pachinko Reviews

  • Cheri

    !! NOW AVAILABLE !!

    3.5 Stars rounded up

    Pachinko is a sweeping family saga listed as being for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone.

    Following one Korean family through the years from Yeongdo, Busan, Korea where a poor fisherman and his wife give birth to a young infant boy. Hoonie, their only child of four to survive, was born with a cleft palate and a twisted foot, in addition to a pleasant temperament and broad shoulders.

    The year Hoonie turns 27, 1910, Japan annexed Korea. His par
    ...more

  • Jess

    I couldn't put this book down. I would give it 4 stars because I did really like it (not there with all out love) but I had to bump it to 5 for the fact that I couldn't put it down. A completely absorbing book set in a time, place, and culture I am completely unfamiliar, and rather ignorant, with. Beautifully written, poignant, sad, and matter of fact at times in regards to life in Korea/Japan in the years preceding WW2 through 1989, Pachinko will leave you thoughtful and perhaps a bit haunted i ...more

  • Angela M

    One of the things I like about reading well written historical fiction is that it can take me to another time and place and can be a profound learning experience. I knew close to nothing about the Japanese occupation of Korea from 1910 through WWII. Last year I read Tiger Pelt which introduced me to this time in Korea which was horrific in so many ways for the Koreans. While this novel begins in a village in Korea, most of the story takes place in various places in Japan, but this is a Korean st ...more

  • Linda

    We are deemed to be the directors of our lives and its consequences. Truth be told, we then become the receptors marked by the shadows of others upon us.....given and taken away.

    Min Jin Lee begins her story in 1910 in Yeongdo, Busan, Korea with Hoonie, plagued by physical impairments, and his wife who live in a small fishing village. These are the first stones in this multigenerational family mosaic. After many miscarriages and infant deaths, they are overjoyed at the birth of a healthy daughter
    ...more

  • Ellie

    This has been on my list since it first came out and it was no disappointment. This family saga begins with a poor but loving Korean family and follows them through the next three generations and to Japan. Although I was aware of the prejudice Japan had for Koreans, I really had no idea of the extent of it.

    It is difficult to discuss the book without giving spoilers. Although long, I would definitely call this an easy read. There are no real challenges in the writing or concepts but the story is
    ...more

  • Lisa

    PACHINKO

    Min Jin Lee

    MY RATING ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

    PUBLISHER Grand Central Publishing/Hachette Audio

    PUBLISHED February 7, 2017

    NARRATED Allison Hiroto

    Absorbing and thought-provoking, PACHINKO will remain in your memory for years to come.

    SUMMARY

    Pachinko is an addicting Japanese vertical arcade game, a cross between pinball and a slot machine. It’s a game of chance and the house odds are high. There are only a few winners, but lots of losers.

    PACHINKO, the book, follows one Korean family though four generations b
    ...more

  • da AL

    If I could, I'd give this audiobook 10 stars for writing & audio narration. The author is masterful at teaching us history, examing motives with a generous heart, and letting us think for ourselves. The audio narrator is amazing too.

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)

    I picked this from Book of the Month last year, and then my in-person book club voted to read it in the 2017-18 season. Since we aren't reading it until June, I was going to wait, but then saw the author would be coming to my town on February 5, and I wanted to go see her read and get my book signed. Then it was included in the shortlist for the Tournament of Books, so basically I needed to read it. It also counts for the Reading Women challenge, as a book on their 2017 shortlist. This checks a ...more