Read You Go First by Erin Entrada Kelly Online

You Go First

Funny and poignant, You Go First by 2018 Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly is an engaging exploration of family, spelling, art, bullying, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Erin Entrada Kellys perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillos Raymie Nightingale and Thanhha Lais Inside Out and Back Again.Twelve-year-old Charlotte Lockard and eleven-year-old Ben Boxer are separated by more than a thousand miles. On the surface, their lives seem vastly differentCharlotte lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, while Ben is in the small town of Lanester, Louisiana. Charlotte wants to be a geologist and keeps a rock collection in her room. Ben is obsessed with Harry Potter, presidential history, and recycling. But the two have more in common than they think. Theyre both highly gifted. Theyre both experiencing family turmoil. And they both sit alone at lunch.Over the course of a week, Charlotte and Benonline friends connected only by a Scrabble gamewill intersect in unexpected ways as they struggle to navigate the turmoil of middle school. You Go First reminds us that no matter how hard it is to keep our heads above troubled water, we never struggle alone.The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly, The Land of Forgotten Girls, and Hello, Universe writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible voice. This engaging and character-driven story about growing up and finding your place in the world will appeal to fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia....

Title : You Go First
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062414182
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » You Go First

You Go First Reviews

  • Alicia

    I'm always down for a perfectly plotted middle grade even when they are sometimes a little pat, but that's okay, because we all need hope in the world and Entrada Kelly superbly navigates the tween traumas of friendship and belonging.

    Ben (is on the spectrum) and is an intelligent eleven year old who was just told his parents are splitting up, so he decides to run for school officer. Charlotte wants to be someone other than Charlotte, imagining a girl like who she is playing Scrabble with Ben, L
    ...more

  • Jessie

    Not a big fan of this book. I was really hoping it would knock my socks off, but instead the book wasn’t even good enough to take off two day old smelly socks. The characters were not developed enough to really care about them. There were way too many plot lines. I mean, lots of books have several plot lines, but this one just couldn’t pull it off. Between bullying, divorce, health issues, parental discontent, friendship, and scrabble, I’m not sure I liked any of them to be honest. Maybe Kelly’s ...more

  • Danielle

    Erin Entrada Kelly is a masterful writer with succinct pacing, inventive ways into a story, and wonderful multi-character voice. Plus, she has such a gift for giving voice and life to characters who feel isolated yet yearn to connect and, lucky for readers, eventually do.

    "Someday, I'll be digging for specimens in Egyptian pyramids and none of this will matter."

  • Abigail McKenna

    yep. all the feels. rtc.

  • Laura Gardner

    4.5/5 for You Go First! Thx to @erinentrada for sharing this ARC with me. It doesn't come out until April, 2018! I am sharing my copy with the @kidlitexchange network. All opinions are my own.

    _*_*_*_*_*

    Charlotte and Ben are online scrabble buddies; Charlotte lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and Ben lives in a small town in Louisiana. Both are gifted students who struggle to make friends and both are having family problems at home. Charlotte's father has had a heart attack and she can't brin
    ...more

  • Rachel

    So sweet! Charlotte and Ben are so adorably dorky (and honestly pretty relatable) I loved them so much. This book perfectly captures middle school and all its ups and downs; bullies, relationship with your parents, growing apart with old friends and gaining new friends. Reading this made the 12 year old me feel much less alone. Also I can honestly say I got a nice science and vocabulary lesson from all the rabbit holes. 😆 Loved it!

  • Sarah

    Over the course of six days two preteens engaged in an online Scrabble game both undergo major life changes. Both Charlotte and Ben are sans friends IRL (that's in real life for the uninitiated.) Both are bright and inquisitive youngsters, sticking out like sore thumbs in a land populated by homogenous middle schoolers. Alternating chapters focus on the scenarios in each child's life.

    Charlotte's father has been hospitalized following a heart attack. Her once best friend now thinks of her as a p
    ...more

  • Wendy MacKnight

    Truly a magical book! The story of online scrabble buddies Charlotte and Ben, who are each going through friend and family issues is simply brilliant storytelling at its best. I couldn't put it down. A classic.