Read The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans Online

The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core.They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later.This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside....

Title : The Wildflowers
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781472221377
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 480 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers Reviews

  • Chrys

    An interesting read about how secrets can destroy lives, and what makes family. Harriet Evans has moved on from her previous light stories to some darker subject matter, and she does it quite well.

  • Louise

    I usually rate Harriet Evans books a lot higher than this one. I read it, it was ok but at the end of the day I was just reading it to finish it. I found the characters in this book pretty unlikable and there was not one that I was truly invested in.

    I also found the setting hard to picture in my head. I am not sure it was due to the description or just never having never seen any home close to what was described. I found this aspect pretty frustrating.

  • Jan

    I don't think Harriet Evans could write a bad book, I have all her novels and I really liked this latest one. Harriet has a way of telling a story and I think this book would be great televised because there is so much in it. Initially I thought it was slow going but like a train starting a journey it picked up speed to the point I just needed to know all the secrets. Anthony and Althea Wilde were flawed but champions in their field, only as the book progresses and you learn their stories do you ...more

  • Candy

    Such a beautiful story :) I loved it. 10/10

    Read my review on my blog on 05/04/18

    Candysbookcase.wordpress.con

  • Toast

    It started off so well. Then it got really s l o w and self indulgent. The characters became stock - the know it all matyr daughter; the adulterer actor lovey father, the quiet supertalented mother; the fragile tragedy waiting to happen daughter in law - tedious. All of them charging around with 'my secret's bigger than yours' drive leading them no where for pages, chapters, years. In the end they all could quite happily have rumbled on for another hundred or so pages but I'd had enough and I'm ...more

  • Karen

    I really enjoyed this family saga

  • Claire Reeder

    I really wanted to like this book. A family saga set between then and now but for some reason I just couldn’t gel with it. There are so many characters and I felt that I was always having to check who was actually speaking at the time. I also felt I got to the end of the book and was quite nonchalant about the whole thing. Sorry but this wasn’t one for me.

  • Amy

    It’s been way too long since I’ve read a really good family saga, so when the opportunity arose to read The Wildflowers I just had to take it. If you’re looking for a book to really sink your teeth into, look no further. This is a meaty read(over 500 pages), you really get the opportunity to know the characters as it follows the Wilde family throughout their entire lives and by the end I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to them.

    This jumps back and forth in time from the 40’s, to 2014 and severa
    ...more