Read Drum Roll, Please by Lisa Jenn Bigelow Online

Drum Roll, Please

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat.Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. Its the only time she doesnt feel like a mouse.Now, she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods.But this summer brings big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself falling for a girl at camp named Adeline. To top it off, Melly's not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock 'n' roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?...

Title : Drum Roll, Please
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062791160
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » Drum » Drum Roll, Please

Drum Roll, Please Reviews

  • evan

    (Full disclosure, the author is a friend of mine.)

    This book was fantastic. I loved living in Melly's world and I was sad that Camp Rockaway only lasted 2 weeks. I wanted to spend more time with Melly and her friends and their bands.

    At the end of the book, I had tears in my eyes and on my cheeks. Lisa did a great job of making Melly's life, problems, and mistakes engaging and captivating.

    The writing itself was fantastic. I would forget that this was my friend's book and I was sucked in. Passages

    We each had to make up a jingle to help everyone remember our names. Let’s just say when your name only rhymes with jiggly words like belly and jelly, it’s bad news.


    Melly, her friends, and her parents are complicated, as we all are. They make mistakes, and they have to learn from them. A passage at the end of the book really struck with me as a core theme of the book:



    How was anyone supposed to figure out this stuff? It was depressing to think I could live another twenty-five years and still be clueless. I felt sorry for my hypothetical kids.



    The book, to me, is about the mistakes we make. The trials and tribulations of being a teenager and learning to deal with our emotions, our friends, and our crushes and love. And how, these trials, don't really go away. We are always making mistakes and learning from them.

    All of that wrapped up in a charming story of a woman starting to learn about her sexuality, how to be a drummer, how to communicate (with friends, with bandmates, with her parents, and with herself).

    I highly recommend this read. ...more

  • Deborah

    LGBT middle grade novels are so important. I've already went on and on about this before in past reviews, but they are. For young and old readers.

    I love that the main drama was Melly's parent's divorce and not her relationship with Adeline. (There was some drama about that too, but it wasn't omg am i gay?? drama which is refreshing!) Instead, the support and care Melly received from Adeline to help her through camp and beyond was amazing to behold. Communication! Respect! Boundaries! Support! A
    ...more

  • Kathie

    This is definitely one of my favorite middle grade books of the year. It’s the perfect summer read about Melly and her best friend, Olivia, who head to a music camp for two weeks. As the girls are put in situations that force them out of their comfort zone with each other, Melly starts to bloom into her own person with a beautiful awakening when out from Olivia’s shadow. The feelings that she develops for a fellow camper, Adeline, the exposure to different music, and the emotions she experiences ...more

  • Laura Gardner

    Thanks to @kidlitexchange and @harperchildrens for the free book!

    ~*~*~*~*~*

    Happy pride month! I'm excited to feature a wonderful new #mglit book to add to your middle grade LGBT collections. DRUM ROLL, PLEASE releases on 6/26/18. Pre-order now!

    ~*~*~*~*~*

    4/5 for this book about rock n roll summer camp and first relationships by @lisajennbigelow

    ~*~*~*~*~*

    Melly and Olivia are best friends headed to two-week summer band camp. Melly is a drummer and Olivia plays bass. But then Melly's parents reveal
    ...more

  • Martha Meyer

    Wonderful summer read for 4th - 9th grade! Melly is a shy drummer heading off to Camp Rockaway, a rock music camp. For Melly, it was hard enough to head off to a new camp, but the day before she leaves, her mom and dad tell her they are divorcing. Then, at camp she meets Adeline, a guitarist who stirs things up in Melly's heart even more. Don't miss this book garnering starred reviews!

    "A perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm." says School Library Journal

     "A perfect m
    ...more

  • Ceillie Simkiss

    This had me in tears several a time, and was lovely.

    Read my full review here!