Read Playing with Matches by Hannah Orenstein Online

Playing with Matches

Named a Best Book of Summer by Refinery 29, Bustle, and PopSugarThe best rom-com of the seasonoverflowing with charm and heart.BustleThe perfect Summer readsmart, funny, escapist, and bursting with charm.PopSugar In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her familys darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York Citys elite at the dating service Bliss.Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match.Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of controland right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. Hes strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off.Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in todays swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world....

Title : Playing with Matches
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501178481
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » Playing » Playing with Matches

Playing with Matches Reviews

  • Teresa

    ****3.5 Stars****

    Sasha is just trying to make it in NYC, like everybody else; she graduated with her dream degree and has a job in her field, she has a handsome, albeit distracted, boyfriend that loves her and a best friend that supports her. When she loses her job, she is devasted but determined to find something else. She stumbles across an ad for a match making service and she decides what the hell. What follows is funny, touching and ultimetly life changing for Sasha...in the best way possib
    ...more

  • Fafa's Book Corner

    Mini review:

    DNF

    GR Ultimate Summer Reading Challenge: Let's Get It On.

    When I had heard about this book through Twitter I was excited! I haven't read a book about matchmaking and the synopsis sounded hilarious. Unfortunately it wasn't for me.

    The beginning was good! I was invested and the writing really brought out Sasha's personality. As I read on I realized that Playing with Matches is one of those really readable books. In that sense it was addictive. But it came to a point where I didn't reall
    ...more

  • Nikki (Saturday Nite Reader)



    I was looking for a quick read to breeze through the weekend, and Playing with Matches did not disappoint. Fun and fresh, it makes a perfect vacation read; or, if you need something light to break up those ugly cry drama reads – well then, why not pick up this one? It is available for purchase on Tuesday, June 26th!

    Sasha Goldberg has the life other’s are envious of – which is why they hire matchmakers, right? – a successful, handsome boyfriend in the dating abyss of what is New York City. She la
    ...more

  • Tess

    A total fun summer beach read that I ate up in two days. It can sometimes be a bit too self aware, and a lot of NYC insidery stuff that may be a turn off to some, but it moved fast and was a fun world to escape into.

  • Janelle

    Thanks so much Touchstone Books for providing my free copy of PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Hannah Orenstein - all opinions are my own.

    This is the perfect palate cleanser to balance out those heavy reads. It’s easy-breezy, quickly paced, addictive, and so much fun to read! I kept flipping through the pages to see what decisions our main protagonist would make next. The story centers on Sasha Goldberg, a recent college graduate living in New York City, who is desperate to find a job. She is the product
    ...more

  • Kelsey

    Playing with Matches is a cute, light read about a 22 year old matchmaker in NYC, just trying to make her way at her first job out of college while balancing friendship and her own relationship. This book reads like a rom-com, and I enjoyed that there were doses of reality in the storyline. For those of us who have lived through the swipe right era, some of the frustrations of dating in the digital age will definitely ring true. I’d recommend this book for anyone in their 20s, or those just look ...more

  • Georgia Clark

    Delightful. A fun and relatable rom-com for the Tinder age. Get ready to swipe right!

  • Meredith Schorr

    I really enjoyed this debut novel! I found the vibe to be very much like The Devil Wears Prada and Bond Girl, both books I also liked a lot. Great writing style. It was so much fun reading about a young matchmaker with zero experience trying to set other people up while her own relationship was imploding. I liked Sasha a lot. She had her flaws, but she was a good person at the heart of it and so, so young. The book managed to be very sexy at times without ever being graphic. I found that impress ...more