Read Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent Online

Lying in Wait

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect lifewife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydias son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre (Sunday Mirror)....

Title : Lying in Wait
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501167775
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » Lying » Lying in Wait

Lying in Wait Reviews

  • Elyse

    Christmas Day is Lydia’s only son, Lawrence’s birthday, and the day her husband, Andrew died.....displacing a turkey carcass from its serving platter, falling face down across the table, his hair in turkey grease.

    ...Andrew drove a vintage jaguar sedan... wore a trilby hat.

    He killed a girl named Annie.

    ...Lydia says it was an accident - but she deserved it......

    ...Lydia isn’t an innocent bystander,

    ...Lawrence isn’t an innocent bystander...

    The one person you trust may be telling you only half th
    ...more

  • Diane S ☔

    Insidiously dark, an undertone of creepiness, and all done without graphic gore. This is my kind of psychological thriller, one that keeps you guessing, proving one wrong when I was sure I knew where this was going. Oh, the chains that bind, the relationships that corrupt, the hope that dwindles. Unreliable narrators, where would novels be without them. The question is who or are all of the narrators telling this story, unreliable? Are any of them on the up and up?

    Tautly plotted, unraveling at
    ...more

  • Rachel Wallace

    5 Fabulously Chilly Stars

    I LOVED this book!!!! I find myself unable to justify any rating other than five stars.

    SUMMARY

    The book opens with bang - a man and his wife murdering a young girl and covering it up. With that kind of start, you know it’s going to be quite a ride. The story is told from multiple points of view including: Lydia - the wife in the opening scene who is a total blue blood ice queen and has some serious baggage, Laurence - Lydia’s son who has issues of his own including (of c
    ...more

  • Noeleen

    Many thanks to Penguin Books (UK) via NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this book

    Liz Nugent’s debut Unravelling Oliver was one of my personal favourite books to read last year. It was also a huge hit with my book club. Eagerly awaiting a second book, I didn’t think that the next offering would quite live up to the fantastic debut, they rarely do, but I was so wrong, Lying in Wait most certainly did and then some.

    As with Unravelling Oliver, Lying in Wait is a very impressive, skill
    ...more

  • Liz Barnsley

    Having been a huge fan of Unravelling Oliver I really wanted to see what Liz Nugent would come up with next and that would be this - Lying in Wait. If you thought Oliver was a nightmare wait until you meet Lydia...

    What I loved about this, and indeed about Unravelling Oliver, is the very different way the author approaches crime. Here there is no "whodunnit" but more a psychological character study of a group of people involved whether intentionally or otherwise, in murder. With Unravelling Olive
    ...more

  • Linda

    Crazy people go through the forest by taking the psycho path......

    Strange how people never quite reveal every card in their deck. They wear that poker face day in and day out and keep the Joker locked inside the vault.

    Lydia Fitzsimon and her husband, Andrew, have found themselves on a cold, deserted beach outside of Dublin. Hardly alone, since you've got to count that body in the trunk of the Jaguar. Andrew's hands must have squeezed a little too tight. Odd behavior for a judge who would never w
    ...more

  • Dorie

    Well this is amazing, a psychological thriller that really delivers and definitely lives up to the buzz and reviews that are generating for this book. It was crazy creepy, sometimes almost made me gasp (I’m not kidding here), this is one heck of a good read.

    This book features a true psychopath, the meaning of which is “Psychopathy is a personality disorder which has symptoms expressed over a wide range of settings.Socially, it expresses extensive callous and manipulative self-serving behaviors w
    ...more

  • Rachel Hall

    Lying in Wait is an insidiously dark psychological thriller and given the far-fetched nature of events, it really shouldn't be as haunting and poignant as it is, but as Liz Nugent charts the inextricable ties that set two very different families on a collision course she deploys three very different narrators who combine to best effect in a truly dark storm.

    When Lying in Wait opens it isn't hard to imagine just how the respectable Fitzsimmons family come to find themselves rubbing shoulders wit
    ...more